This acrylic image, with all its dramatic motion and the dominance of black and white, made me think of cartoons. Maybe the red parts refer to those cartoonists, particularly political cartoonists, who have been treated with less care than the rest (such as the cartoonists I heard about this afternoon in Turkey who were recently jailed for their craft). We could use some laughs here in Maine while the state budget repeats the spin cycle over and over and government goes into shutdown mode. In my house, that means number one son will be deprived of his shot at a driver’s license (unless a miracle occurs in the next couple of hours). It was a “regular” comic, Bizarro, that recently had a human replying to the alien request “Take me to your leader” with “Only if you promise to take him back with you.” Bravo, I say. See you in the…well, you know.

